About Us

Follow and Like us on Facebook:

Share this page:

Our Parish:

Welcome to the website of Saint Joseph the Workman Catholic Church near Colton, South Dakota.  Saint Joseph, the Workman is a parish of the Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, under the guidance of the Most Reverend Donald E. DeGrood. We are a part of Pastorate #9 which includes St. Peter's in Colman, Sts. Simon & Jude in Flandreau, and St. Mary's in Dell Rapids. Our Pastor is Father Shane Stevens and Parochial Vicar is Father Scott Miller. Katelyn Burggraff serves as the Director of Religious Education. Melinda Aalberg provides assistance with publishing the weekly parish bulletin.


Parish Mission Statement:

Our Logo:

Our Diocese

Established on November 12, 1889 by Pope Leo XIII comprising all of South Dakota. The Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls is a significant presence in eastern South Dakota.Since 1902, comprises that part of the State of South Dakota East of the Missouri River.  For 125 years, it has not only spread the message of the Gospel, but has lived the message through its ministries and parishes. Through spiritual and sacramental outreach, educational endeavors and a commitment to service, the Church has made a difference in people’s lives. We are striving to continue this tradition by making our Diocese an even better place to live, learn, work and worship. The Family of God in the Sioux Falls Diocese, headed by Most Rev. Paul J. Swain, numbers over 120,000 baptized members.

The Pastoral Center is where most of the diocesan head offices are. The building is located directly North of St. Joseph Cathedral.

Find parish websites click on the desired parish location in the map below then find the website portion in the information. Or us the Diocese Parish directory

Shepherds of Our Diocese, Past and Present:

1. Rt. Reverend Martin Marty

– Appointed Vicar Apostolic of Dakota on August 8, 1879

– Named First Bishop of Sioux Falls on November 12, 1889

– Transferred to the Diocese of St. Cloud, Minnesota in 1894

– Died on September 19, 1896 

2. Rt. Reverend Thomas O’Gorman

– Named Second Bishop of Sioux Falls on January 24, 1896

– Died on September 18, 1921 

3. Most Reverend Bernard J. Mahoney

– Named Third Bishop of Sioux Falls on May 22, 1922

– Died on March 20, 1939 

4. Most Reverend William O. Brady

– Named Fourth Bishop of Sioux Falls on June 10, 1939

– Transferred to the Archdiocese of St. Paul on June 21, 1956

– Died on October 1, 1961 

5. Most Reverend Lambert A. Hoch

– Named Fifth Bishop of Sioux Falls on November 2, 1956

– Resigned from Office of Bishop on June 13, 1978

– Died on June 27, 1990

6. Most Reverend Paul V. Dudley

– Named Sixth Bishop of Sioux Falls on September 26, 1978

– Resigned from Office of Bishop on March 21, 1995

– Died on November 20, 2006 

7. Most Reverend Paul F. Anderson

– Named Auxiliary Bishop of Sioux Falls on August 12, 1982

– Died on January 4, 1987 

8. Most Reverend Robert J. Carlson

– Named Coadjutor Bishop of Sioux Falls on January 13, 1994

– Named Seventh Bishop on March 21, 1995

– Transferred to Diocese of Saginaw, Michigan February 24, 2005

– Named Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Saint Louis on April 21,2009 

9. Most Reverend Paul J. Swain

– Named Eighth Bishop of Sioux Falls on August 30, 2006

– Consecrated as Bishop of Sioux Falls on October 26, 2006

– Resigned from Office of Bishop on December 12, 2019

10. Our Current Bishop, the Most Reverend Donald E. DeGrood

Coat of Arms Elements

Bishop's Coat of Arms Elements.pdf